Men’s style column: What to wear to a sporting event

By Miller Douglas

Like most red-blooded Americans, I enjoy sports. Actually let me re-phrase that. I am an American, and yes, I am in fact red-blooded, but do I enjoy sports? No. Not really. What I do enjoy however are: drinking, eating and most importantly, anytime I can dress for an occasion. Have you ever seen a rabid animal released back into the wild, and how happy the newfound freedom makes them? How happy they are devouring a wildebeest or another defenseless animal? Well, game day is my wild and I am that rabid animal. It’s a no judgment zone. One where I’m free to roam, stalk and devour cake/burgers and wash it down with Natty, all while looking good, of course. So in honor of baseball season coming to a close and the impending Michigan State-Maryland game, I decided to provide some insight into how to balance your team pride with style, and not look like Randy Marsh on game day.

First of all, wear a shirt. If you can master that concept you’re pretty much golden. Second, keep it comfortable. For some reason, sitting in a stadium is always frigid cold, or sweltering hot, so I like to dress for the weather. Third, to avoid being an unpaid brand rep, I wear one item that reflects my team spirit. In this case I’m going to focus on a hat, because baseball caps are really in right now. Look at any label such as J-Crew or Topman, and you will see a slew of caps in their accessories department. They’re being made out of tweed, felt, wool and even leather—they’re also the perfect accessory for game-day streaking. Just kidding.

But actually, designer hats can be hella expensive, and like you’re not a rapper so where would you conceivably wear this to?

Screen Shot 2014-11-11 at 11.15.50 PM

However, you can create an equally fashionable (and cheaper) look with actual MLB or NFL hats. Personally, I enjoy a subtle baseball cap, and when choosing the perfect one, I think understated and minimalist, with one or two colors on it and just the team logo. In this case, I chose a really simple Graphite Yankees hat (featured below) because I liked the color and the Yankees just get me as an individual. Also offered below is a nice white university hat with the Testudo logo. I also like when hats are adjustable; fitted hats just never seem to fit right. Also just as a rule of thumb, don’t buy/ wear it if anything but the team logo is on it such as:

  • Holographic stickers
  • Any kind of animal is pretending to rip through it
  • Bullet holes because nothing says wholesome-family-sports-event like having bullet holes on your hat…

If you have a gnawing fear that people won’t get that you’re a fan just from your hat, then try and limit your apparel to no more than three items. Aside from a hat I do enjoy a nice team jersey or shirt. And like my hat prerequisites, the same applies for buying a shirt or jersey: subtle, and understated. Basically we shouldn’t be able to tell anything about your personality aside from the team you support.

Finally for the sake of your dignity and the poor unfortunate soul that has to sit next to you don’t:

  1. Opt for body paint instead of a shirt. It’s unsightly.
  2. Not wash your favorite jersey or T-shirt. Regardless of your irrational superstitions, the outcome of the game has nothing to do with your stench.
  3. Pull a Randy Marsh and be that drunk, trash-talking pyscho-fan.

Screen Shot 2014-11-11 at 11.15.19 PM

Hat:  The product description was way too long for me to expend the effort on copying/pasting it, but it’s the graphite one from fanatics.com. I also suggest the navy blue and charcoal one.

Coat: Just make sure its some sort of pea-duffel-trench style and black. This particular one is from Banana Republic

Shoes: Clarks Desert Boot SUEDE. I bought the stiff leather ones and literally my feet blister as if I was trekking in the Diaspora every time I wear them.

Sweater: Shades of Grey by Micah Cohen. Contrast it to the outwear piece and your pants – think chunky knits, light grey and crew neck. Gap also has nice sweaters.

Pants: J-Crew Sideline in Black.

 

Miller Douglas is a senior at the University of Maryland, College Park. He also writes his own blog at http://brokeandsavvy.me/.

Leave a comment