Students Avoid Online Drama, but Still Use Facebook to Stay in Touch

By Sarah Fielder
Staff Writer

The average number of friends Facebook users have is 338, according to Big Think.

However, the maximum number of friends a Facebook user may have is 5,000. Both of these numbers are quite a jump compared to the nine close friends American’s have on average, according to an article from Gallup.

“I have a couple people nearing 1,000 facebook friends and that’s a lot,” said Bianca Foltan, a junior aerospace engineer major. “I begin unfriending people when I don’t like what they are posting.”

reactions-image-en_us

Foltan, who has approximately 400 Facebook friends, said that on average she spends two hours a day on the site.

“I almost always have it open as a tab, but whenever I’m bored I’ll just scroll past the posts I’ve seen a thousand times,” she said.

Most of Foltan’s Facebook friends are people she does not see on a regular basis, and she said Facebook messenger has made getting in contact with people very easy.

“It’s nice because [Facebook] lets you communicate with people you normally don’t get to,” said Robin Collins, a junior bioengineering major. “It’s also bad because people try to present an image that really isn’t themselves, to be perfect, but then I know it’s not true.”

Collins has about 300 friends, and said she uses Facebook to keep tabs on people, mostly on friends and family she does not see on a regular basis.

“I get really mad at the guilt tripping, when it says like a post to pray or share,” said Collins. “I sent a message to my cousin to yell at my aunt to stop.”

Max Pennington, a junior public health science major, is another Facebook user who has approximately 300 friends.

dsc_2726

Photo by Soula Christou

“I started because I wanted to connect with high school friends, and see how people are doing,” said Pennington. “Some are my face-to-face friends, others are less important in my life.”

Pennington also said he unfriends people, normally if they consistently cause drama or are annoying.

Most people are unfriended because of differing views on religion or politics, according to an article from Future Tense.

On the day of the presidential election, some Facebook users began posting requests for their friends to unfriend them if they had differing political views.

However, most people are unfriended for their actions not on the Internet, according to Future Tense.

“If people post creepy things or highly offensive, I’m like, you need to go now,” said Collins.

Leave a Reply

