DIY: Confetti Wall

By Alex Theriot

Whether you live on the campus or off the campus, chances are, your walls are painted an extremely dull shade of white. When I settled into my University View apartment, this was exactly the case. As a girl who loves to decorate and all things sparkly and gold, Pinterest was the obvious choice to solve my bare wall problem.

After spending my free time during the summer scouring do-it-yourself home decoration boards, I came across the perfect way to liven up my dining area: a confetti wall. With a little bit of planning and a trip to the local Michael’s craft store, I was able to illuminate a dull wall for less than $20.

Confetti wall instructions. Photos by Alex Theriot; Design by Jenny Hottle

Confetti wall instructions. Photos by Alex Theriot; Design by Jenny Hottle

To me, gold gives off a very luxurious, almost magical vibe. It not only reflects light but also acts as a perfect confetti background during celebrations. I chose reflective gold scrapbook paper in order to remain consistent with the overall décor in my apartment. But for this project, you may certainly choose any color you wish.

To save time and to minimize the amount of effort it would take to cut out individual circles, I bought a crafting hole punch. Crafting hole punches come in multiple sizes, but the larger the space, the larger the individual circles need to be, so a 1.5-inch hole punch worked perfectly for the size of the wall.

When decorating any dorm, apartment or rental property, a top concern is always how to apply chic wall adornments without causing any damage. In order to make sure removing the circles would be a breeze when the lease expires, regular transparent adhesive tape proved to be sufficient when applying the circles to the wall.

Once the materials are acquired, the fun begins! Simply use the hole punch to create the circles. Then, attach them at varying heights using a stepladder to simulate falling confetti. It’s as simple as that.

For the purposes of my wall, I bought three pieces of gold scrapbook or cardstock, which yielded 153 circles or about 51 circles per sheet. One roll of tape was enough to apply all of the circles. In total, from start to finish, the confetti wall took me about two hours to complete. While dividing the work between roommates would definitely speed the process up, this project is highly manageable within a busy weekend.

Now that I’ve added visual appeal to my gloomy dining area, the mornings are infinitely brighter.

Leave a Reply

